#cheapest auto insurance
Driving in Louisiana: Statewide Facts
Louisiana insurance rates have gone up quite a bit over the past few years. This is due in part to the number of claims arising from all the recent hurricanes. For consumers, it is more important than ever to research all the available options for cheap insurance Louisiana offers. Getting comparison quotes is the best way to ensure you are paying the lowest available rate for your individual needs.
Using a 40-year-old male as an example: Let’s say he is driving a brand new Toyota Camry, wants full coverage ($500 deductibles for comprehensive and collision coverage) and increased liability limits (100/300/50). Based on quotes from a number of Louisiana insurance companies, in multiple residence territories, he will pay around $160/month.
Louisiana’s car insurance premiums are the highest in the United States of America, at an average 12-month rate of $2,536. Leading causes are natural disasters, the number of uninsured drivers and state insurance laws.
State Car Insurance Requirements
- Vehicles with a gross weight of 20,000 pounds or less are required to carry a minimum bodily injury coverage of $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident, with $25,000 in property damage.
- Vehicles with a gross weight between 20,001 and 50,000 pounds are required to carry a minimum bodily injury coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident, with $25,000 in property damage coverage – or a single combined limit of no less than $75,000.
- Vehicles with a gross weight over 50,001 pounds must have a minimum bodily injury coverage of $100,000 for an individual, and $300,000 per accident, plus $25,000 in property damage coverage – or a combined single limit of $300,000.