Aug 29 2017

Colleges – Sam Houston State University #business #administration, #criminal #justice, #education, #fine #arts #and #mass #communication, #health #sciences, #humanities #and #social #sciences, #sciences



College of Business Administration

The College of Business Administration aspires to be recognized among the best regional colleges of business administration in the nation. A comprehensive range of academic majors, a strong curriculum, excellent teaching, and special programs give students the real-world perspective they need to meet the challenges of today’s business environment.

College of Criminal Justice

The College of Criminal Justice is one of the largest and oldest criminal justice programs in the nation. Students benefit from a close-knit learning environment led by expert faculty specializing in criminology, law, psychology, criminal justice, sociology, history, and political science.

College of Education

The College of Education offers opportunities for study, professional growth, research, collaboration, and community service. The College is comprised of five academic units: Curriculum and Instruction; Educational Leadership and Counseling; Language, Literacy, and Special Populations; and Library Science. Teacher Certification is also under the administrative purview of the College of Education.

College of Fine Arts Mass Communication

The College of Fine Arts Mass Communication combines five outstanding departments: the Departments of Art, Dance, Mass Communication, Theatre Musical Theatre, and School of Music into one dynamic college that seeks to inspire, educate, and graduate creative artists and media professionals.

College of Health Sciences

The College of Health Sciences consists of the departments of Family Consumer Sciences, Population Health, Kinesiology, Nursing and Pre-Nursing. The College collaborates with community and global partners to provide education for diverse populations; advance knowledge and evidence-based practice through scholarship; and promote stewardship of health and quality of life in Texas, the nation, and the world.

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

The College of Humanities and Social Sciences consists of eight academic units: the Departments of Communication Studies, English, Family and Consumer Sciences, Foreign Languages, History, Political Science, Psychology and Philosophy, and Sociology. By promoting analytic, interpretive, interpersonal, research and communication skills, the College facilitates personal growth, competent professionals, and responsible citizens.

College of Osteopathic Medicine

Osteopathic medicine was founded in the late 1800s by a medical doctor who felt a holistic approach to medicine would be more beneficial for patients. Emphasizing wellness through health promotion and disease prevention, osteopathic medicine integrates the individual into the healthcare process as a partner.

College of Science & Engineering Technology

Students can choose from a wide variety of programs offered through seven College departments: Agricultural Sciences and Engineering Technology, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Geography and Geology, Mathematics and Statistics, and Physics. Degrees in Biology, Biomedical Sciences, Chemistry, and Animal Science prepare students for entry into professional degree programs in Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy, and Veterinary Science.

Written by admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *