Utah Lemon Law
Consumers who buy or lease a new automobile or motor home with significant defects that can’t be repaired, or in other words is simply a “lemon,” can obtain relief under the Utah New Motor Vehicle Warranties Act or “Lemon Law.”
The Utah Lemon Law applies to new cars under warranty and was extended in 1990 to also cover new leased vehicles and motor homes. The Lemon Law does NOT apply to used vehicles.
For your vehicle to qualify as a “lemon” under the Utah Lemon Law:
- The vehicle must have been purchased in the state of Utah;
- The vehicle must be new and under warranty;
- The vehicle must weigh less than 12,000 pounds;
- The defect must “substantially impair the use, market value or safety of the vehicle”;
- The vehicle must have been to the manufacturer to have the same defect resolved at least four times OR out of service to the consumer a total of 30 days DURING the first year or the warranty period, whichever is less (if your problems occur AFTER this time period, you do NOT qualify for the Utah Lemon Law);
- The defect cannot be the result of abuse, neglect or unauthorized modifications of the vehicle; AND
- The consumer must go through any informal dispute settlement or arbitration procedure the manufacturer may have established.
If your vehicle meets ALL of the criteria, your next step is to file a complaint with the Division of Consumer Protection. Include with your complaint COPIES of any relevant documents, including service records, and arbitration or dispute settlement records.
After your vehicle is determined to be a “lemon”, you may qualify for either a replacement or a cash refund. The manufacturer may charge you a “reasonable” amount for use of the vehicle as prescribed by the Utah Lemon Law, usually 10 to 23 cents per mile. You can have the Division try to obtain restitution for you or you can take private action with your own attorney.